About St. Clair Housing Commission

The St. Clair Housing Commission administers two programs through their office.  The first program is Low-Income Senior Housing.  In 1969 “Palmer Park Manor” was built.  It is a three story high rise with the elevator located directly in the middle of the complex for easy access to all.  There is a laundry facility located on the second floor. It consists of three coin operated washers and dryers.  Palmer Park Manor has 60 one-bedrooms and 2 two-bedroom apartments.  The one bedroom apartments are approximately 550 sq/ft with a living room/kitchen combination, a separate bedroom and bathroom.  The two bedrooms have approximately 1100 sq/ft.  All utilities are included in the rent (heat, electric, water/sewer).  The St. Clair Housing Commission supplies the electric stove and refrigerator (new in 2011).  Each apartment has a permanently installed air conditioner available to the resident all year round.

The St. Clair Housing Commission also administers the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program.  The HCV program is a rent subsidy program that helps individuals pay for their rent  in the general rental market.  The Housing Commission currently administers between 28–30 vouchers.

St. Clair Housing Commission consists of five 5 members that are appointed by the Mayor of the City of St. Clair. The term of office of members of the commission is 5 years. Members of the first commission existing hereunder shall be appointed for the term of one (1) year, two (2) years, three (3) years, four (4) years and five (5) years respectively, and annually thereafter one (1) member shall be appointed for the term of five (5) years. 

St. Clair Housing Commission has all of the powers and duties vested or permitted to be vested in the Housing Commissions by said Public Act No. 18 of the Extra Session of 1933, as heretofore or hereafter amended, and any laws heretofore or hereafter enacted which are supplemental thereto, it being the intention of this chapter to vest in the housing commission all powers and duties permitted by law.

Executive Director:
James A. Dewey

Meeting Dates:
Every 3rd Tuesday of the Month at 10:00 A.m.

Board Members:

Sally Achatz, President

Joyce Friederich, Vice President

Richard Schweihofer, Commissioner

Susan Friedkin, Commissioner

Sally Achatz, Commissioner

Margaret Shinske, Commissioner

Application Information:

Applications are available via the links below or at the office.

Pre Application for Public Housing

Supplement to Application

Debts owed to PHA's and Termination Form